UU Game Terminology - Effects
- Some effects are only triggered by certain conditions. Triggered effects are always preceded by an "if" or "when."
- Some triggered effects are mandatory (ex. "If this card is in your Stable at the beginning of your turn, DISCARD a card."), while others are Optional ("If this card is in your Stable at the beginning of your turn, you may STEAL a Unicorn.").
- Any effect on an Upgrade card, Downgrade card, or Unicorn card that is not a triggered effect can be assumed to be a continuous effect. A cardâ€™s continuous effect is active as long as that card is in a Stable (unless otherwise stated).
- I have a card that can destroy two cards in play. The player I want to target has an Upgrade card preventing their Unicorn cards from being destroyed. Can I destroy the Upgrade card first, then destroy one of their Unicorn cards second?
As with Beginning-of-Turn effects, a cardâ€™s effect happens all at once. While you can get rid of their Upgrade card, the change to their Stable will not apply until after your whole card has been resolved. Think of it like two missiles launched at the same time. If you couldn't choose both targets at launch, it doesn't matter if destroying one target frees up another.
- I have a card which states that I must do one thing, then do another. I canâ€™t do the first part of the card. Can I still do the second part?
Choosing Targets for Effects
There are two play styles for player targeting that you can use when playing Unstable Unicorn:
- Option 1 (easy): When you play a card with an effect, you must declare which player(s) you are targeting before using the effect. This allows players to decide if they want to respond with a Neigh card.
- Option 2 (advanced): When you play a card with an effect, players have to choose if they want to use a Neigh card before you select targets.
Both options are viable for gameplay, so you can select your house rules for consistency within the game.
ORDER OF RESOLUTION: THE EFFECT CHAIN
Sometimes, the effect of one card triggers the effect of another card. When this happens, each effect is considered its own link in an effect chain. You must resolve the effect of the first link before moving on to the next link in the chain. All links in the chain must resolve before gameplay continues.
There are times when multiple effects may trigger simultaneously, such as during your Beginning of Turn phase. All of these effects are considered to be a single link in the effect chain. Any targets of these effects must be chosen before this link in the effect chain resolves. If any of these effects trigger the effect of another card, another link is added to the effect chain.
If multiple triggered effects require a target, the same card may not be selected twice in the same link. If there are not enough cards to target, you may only trigger as many effects as you have options for targets. You must select targets for mandatory effects before selecting targets for optional effects.
CARD EFFECTS WITH MULTIPLE ACTIONS
When a card effect requires multiple actions, those actions are sometimes separated by "and," "then," or "If you do." When resolving card effects, always perform multiple actions in the order in which they are listed on the card.
If a card says "and," you must perform both actions.
If a card says "then," you may only perform the second action if you successfully perform the first action.
If a card says "If you do," only perform the second action if you choose to perform the first action.
Card Effects with Multiple Actions
When a card effect requires multiple actions, those actions are sometimes separated by "then" (ex. "SACRIFICE a Unicorn card, then DRAW a card"). If a card says "then," you may only perform the second action if you successfully perform the first action. In the example listed, if you do not have a Unicorn card to SACRIFICE, you may not DRAW a card.
If you have a card in your hand that requires you to perform an impossible action, you may not play it. Sometimes, however, the effect of a card in your Stable or a card played by any other player may require you to perform an impossible action. If this situation occurs, disregard that action. Some impossible actions include:
- DISCARD when you have no cards in your hand.
- SACRIFICE a card when you have no cards in your Stable.
- SACRIFICE a card that cannot be sacrificed
- Defined as:Flyers
- Defined as:Masquerade
- Defined as:Neigh
- Defined as:Seven Sacker
- Game: Deck
- Game: Discard Pile
- Game: Impossible Actions
- Game: Immunity
- Game: Instant Pile
- Game: Nursery
- Game: Target(s) (card or player)
- Game: Win Condition
- Choose (a card)
- Destroy (a card)
- Discard (a card)
- Draw (a card)
- Play (a card)
- Pull (a card)
- Remove (a card from game)
- Replace (a card)
- Return (a card)
- Sacrifice (a card)
- Steal (a card)
- Defined as:Blinding Effect
- Defined as:Requirement
- Defined as:Simultaneously