Difference between revisions of "UU Game Terminology - Masquerade"

From Unstable Games Wiki
(ADVANCED explanation when one or more of these cards are in a stable;)
 
(62 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
 
<p align="center">__NOTOC__
 
<p align="center">__NOTOC__
 
[[File:UU-cardtypebannerMASQUERADE.png|700px]]</p>
 
[[File:UU-cardtypebannerMASQUERADE.png|700px]]</p>
 +
'''There are 5 cards defined as "Masquerade" cards;'''
 +
*'''[[UU - Pandamonium|PANDAMONIUM]]'''
 +
*'''[[UU - Otter Devastation|OTTER DEVASTATION]]'''
 +
*'''[[UU - Catastrophe|CATASTROPHE]]'''
 +
*'''[[UU - Horse Shit|HORSE SHIT]]'''
 +
*'''[[UU - Oh, Deer|OH, DEER]]'''
  
*'''the wearing of disguise.'''    ''"dressing up, role playing, and masquerade"''
+
[[File:UU-Base-075-02.png|102px]][[File:UU-ChCo-032.png|100px]][[File:UU-ChCo-031.png|100px]][[File:UU-NSFW-039-00.png|100px]][[File:UU-Xmas-027.png|100px]]
 
----
 
----
'''Currently there are 5 cards defined as "Masquerade" cards, All cards contain the effect text;'''
+
=='''The simple explanation when one or more of these cards are in a stable;'''==
 +
[[File:UU - Masquerade.png|thumb|180px|'''If a simple explanation card version existed it would appear as this.''']]
  
''"All of your Unicorns are considered'' '''"[[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|Masquerading]]"'''. ''Cards that affect [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn cards]] do not affect your'' '''"[[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|Masquerader]]".'''"
 
==Gameplay Concepts==
 
'''There are two effect "concepts" that are active when a "[[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|Masquerade]]" card is in a [[UU Game Terminology - Stable|Stable]].'''
 
*1. '''[[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorns]] [[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|masquerade]] as a panda,cat,otter or shit, or as a combination of the 4 if a player is so unlucky to have multiple [[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|masquerade]] cards in the [[UU Game Terminology - Stable|Stable]].'''
 
** ''[[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorns cards]] are considered [[UU - Unicorn Card|unicorns]] when they enter a [[UU Game Terminology - Stable|Stable]], they [[UU Game Terminology - Simultaneously|Simultaneously]] trigger any effect and become the panda,cat,otter or shit (at the same time).''(i.e. ''[[UU - Barbed Wire|Barbed Wire]]'')
 
** ''Being a [[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|Masquerading "non-unicorn"]] does '''NOT'' give any [[UU Game Terminology - Immunity|Immunity]] to any effect. You just have no [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorns]] (anymore).
 
*2. '''[[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|Masquerade]] Cards give [[UU Game Terminology - Continuous|Continuous]] [[UU Game Terminology - Immunity|Immunity]] to [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn Cards]].'''
 
** ''A [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn Card]] is still a [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn Card]].''
 
** ''The [[UU Game Terminology - Immunity|Immunity]] protects it from being targeted by effects that affect [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn Cards]], [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn Cards]]'' '''CANNOT''' be chosen to be [[UU Game Terminology - Destroy|destroyed]] by an opponent, or [[UU Game Terminology - Sacrifice|sacrificed]] for a [[UU Game Terminology - Requirement|Requirement]].
 
  
=='''PANDAMONIUM'''==
 
'''[[Info UU Second Print|Second Print]]: All of your Unicorns are considered Pandas. Cards that affect [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn cards]] do not affect your Pandas.
 
  
=='''OTTER DEVASTATION'''==
+
  '''1. You cannot win the game with the card in stable (unless dragons blessing is in stable too).'''  
'''[[Info UU CC Print|C&C Print]]: All of your Unicorns are considered Otters. Cards that affect [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn cards]] do not affect your Otters.
+
''Ask yourself "Is the card in your stable?" If the answer is Yes = you cannot win''
  
=='''CATASTROPHE'''==
+
*''Unless dragon's blessing is in stable too.''
'''[[Info UU CC Print|C&C Print]]: All of your Unicorns are considered Cats. Cards that affect [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn cards]] do not affect your Cats.
 
  
=='''HORSE SHIT'''==
 
'''[[Info UU NSFW Print|NSFW Base]]: All of your Unicorns are considered Shits. Cards that affect [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn cards]] do not affect your Shits.
 
  
=='''OH, DEER'''==
+
  '''2. No player can do anything to a unicorn card that's in that stable. (Nothing at all!).'''  
'''[[Info UU Xmas Print|Christmas Special Exp]]: All of your Unicorns are considered Reindeer. Cards that affect [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn cards]] do not affect your Reindeer.
+
''Ask yourself "would this card or effect do something, anything to a unicorn card in that stable?" If the answer is yes, you can't do it.''
----
 
[[File:UU-Base-075-02.png|104px]][[File:UU-ChCo-032.png|100px]][[File:UU-ChCo-031.png|100px]][[File:UU-NSFW-039-00.png|100px]][[File:UU-Xmas-027.png|100px]]
 
  
=='''Specific Card Rules and Information'''==
+
*If a card a player wants to play from hand with a requirement that would affect any unicorn card in that stable to fulfill that requirement, they are prevented from playing it.
 +
*If an effect from a card in a stable it cannot affect any unicorn card in that stable, even from itself.
  
*'''You cannot win the game if a [[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|Masquerade]] card is in your Stable.'''
+
  '''This is valid for all versions, no text changes alter the card effect.'''
  
*'''A [[UU Game Terminology - Steal|Stolen]] Unicorn will not return to its original [[UU Game Terminology - Stable|Stable]], the return effect does not affect "[[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|Masquerader]]" or [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn Cards]].'''
+
=='''ADVANCED explanation when one or more of these cards are in a stable;'''==
  
*'''Do my Unicorn card effects work if [[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|Masquerade]] card is in my Stable?''' ''Yes, their effects remain the same.''
+
'''These cards gives [[UU Game Terminology - Continuous|Continuous]] [[UU Game Terminology - Immunity|Immunity]] to [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn Cards]] in the stable. Unicorn cards cannot be affected by anything.''' ''They are immune to both direct and indirect effects.'' '''No effect that would affect a unicorn card can target a unicorn card.'''
  
*'''The immunity granted from a [[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|Masquerade]] card does not extend to unicorn card effects, these can be replaced by other card effects instead.'''  
+
*'''[[UU Game Terminology - Immunity|The Unicorn cards have immunity.]]''' If a targeted effect on a unicorn card is required to play a card the player is unable to play that card. ''Such as [[UU - Unicorns of the Apocalypse|Unicorns of the Apocalypse]] or a [[UU Game Terminology - Seven Sacker|Seven Sacker]]''
 +
*'''[[UU Game Terminology - Immunity|The Unicorn cards have immunity.]]''' Any unicorn card in your stable cannot be chosen for a sacrifice, destroy, steal (move), return,  remove, or replace effect.
 +
*'''[[UU Game Terminology - Immunity|The Unicorn cards have immunity.]]''' If a card a player wants to play from hand with a requirement that would affect any unicorn card in that stable to fulfill that requirement you are prevented from playing it.
 +
*'''[[UU Game Terminology - Immunity|The Unicorn cards have immunity.]]''' A [[UU Game Terminology - Steal|STOLEN]] unicorn card will not return to original [[UU Game Terminology - Stable|stable]], from a return effect.
 +
*'''[[UU Game Terminology - Immunity|The Unicorn cards have immunity.]]''' If an effect of a card in a stable would require a sacrifice, a unicorn card is not a legitimate card that can be sacrificed. ''Such as [[UU - Glitter Bomb|Glitter Bomb]].''
 +
*'''[[UU Game Terminology - Immunity|The Unicorn cards have immunity.]]''' Unicorn cards cannot affect themselves.  ''[[UU - Angel Unicorn|Angel Unicorn]] has a card effect that would be affecting a unicorn card.''
  
'''INTERACTION:''' [[UU - Unicorn Lasso|Unicorn Lasso]]:If this card is in your [[UU Game Terminology - Stable|Stable]] at the [[UU Game Terminology - Beginning of Turn Phase|beginning of your turn]], you may [[UU Game Terminology - Steal|STEAL]] a [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn card]]. At the [[UU Game Terminology - End of Turn Phase|end of your turn]], return that [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn card]] to the [[UU Game Terminology - Stable|Stable]] from which you stole it.
+
*The win condition requires "unicorns", you do not have any to count.  '''Unless [[UU - Dragon's Blessing|Dragon's Blessing]] is in the stable also.'''
<BR>'''RESULT:''' ''The stolen unicorn becomes a "[[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|Masquerader]]" simultaneously on entering the [[UU Game Terminology - Stable|Stable]]. The [[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|Masquerade]] card prevents [[UU - Unicorn Lasso|Unicorn Lasso]] from returning the [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn card]].''
+
*These cards have no requirement effect text that prevents playing the card.
 +
*When a masquerade card is in a stable, it has no card effect that removes unicorn card effects.
 +
**''DO MY UNICORN CARD EFFECTS STILL WORK IF A [[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|MASQUERADE]] CARD IS IN MY STABLE?'' '''Yes, their effects remain the same. Masquerade cards have no text to change or remove card effects.'''
 +
*When a masquerade card is in a stable, it has no card effect that prevents replacement effects.
 +
**The immunity granted from a [[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|Masquerade]] card does not extend to unicorn card effects. '''The effect created from a unicorn card in the stable on another player's cards can still be replaced by other card effects instead.'''
 +
*When a unicorn card enters a stable. The [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn card]] is considered a unicorn, when they enter a stable they become a panda, cat, otter, shit, or reindeer and also trigger any other continuous effects that may also be in that stable. '''Such as [[UU - Barbed Wire|Barbed Wire]].'''
 +
*Unicorn Cards are only considered to be "something" (Unicorn, Panda etc) when that unicorn card is in a stable.When in a player's hand they are only unicorn cards. '''They do not have immunity from discard effects.'''
 +
*If a Masqerade card leaves a stable unicorn cards revert from being considered something back to being considered unicorns. '''No unicorn card effects will trigger at that time.'''
 +
*'''When multiple masquerade cards are in the same stable they do not protect against each other.''' ''Panda Cat Deer Shits Otters do not cancel each other. You are just very unlucky and have to clear all of them.
 +
{{Template:Type}}
 +
----
 +
{{Template:Blinding}}
 +
----
  
'''INTERACTION:''' [[UU - Tiny Stable|Tiny Stable]]: If at any time you have more than 5 Unicorns in your [[UU Game Terminology - Stable|Stable]], [[UU Game Terminology - Sacrifice|SACRIFICE]] a Unicorn card.
+
=='''Altered Gameplay concepts'''==
<BR>'''RESULT:''' ''If [[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|Masquerade]] card left stable prior to [[UU - Tiny Stable|Tiny Stable]] the player would then sacrifice down if required.
+
'''When in a stable, Masquerade cards alter [[UU Gameplay concepts|standard gameplay concepts]] as listed below.'''
 
 
'''INTERACTION:''' [[UU - Barbed Wire|Barbed Wire]]: Each time a [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn card]] [[UU Game Terminology - Enter|enters]] or leaves your [[UU Game Terminology - Stable|Stable]], [[UU Game Terminology - Discard|DISCARD]] a card.
 
<BR>'''RESULT:''' ''A [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn]] entering a [[UU Game Terminology - Stable|Stable]] will simultaneously trigger [[UU - Barbed Wire|Barbed Wire]] and become a "[[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|Masquerader]]". When a "[[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|Masquerader]]" leaves the [[UU Game Terminology - Stable|Stable]] it is not a [[UU - Unicorn Card|Unicorn]] to trigger [[UU - Barbed Wire|Barbed Wire]].''
 
 
 
'''INTERACTION:''' [[UU - Nymphicorn|Nymphicorn]]: If this card is in your [[UU Game Terminology - Stable|Stable]] at the [[UU Game Terminology - Beginning of Turn Phase|beginning of your turn]], each player that does not have a [[UU - Magical Unicorn Card|Magical Unicorn]] card in their [[UU Game Terminology - Stable|Stable]] must [[UU Game Terminology - Discard|DISCARD]] a card.
 
<BR>'''RESULT:''' ''A [[UU - Magical Unicorn Card|Magical Unicorn]] card must be in the [[UU Game Terminology - Stable|Stable]] or the [[UU Game Terminology - Player|Player]] will still have to [[UU Game Terminology - Discard|Discard]] a card. A [[UU Game Terminology - Masquerade|Masquerade]] card will not prevent this [[UU Game Terminology - Effects|effect]].''
 
  
 +
* '''The player is prevented from winning. The win condition requires "unicorns", you do not have any to count. (Unless [[UU - Dragon's Blessing|Dragon's Blessing]] is in the stable also.)'''
 +
*'''When a masquerade card is in a stable it causes the intangible "unicorn" concept to become a physical component. This causes Pandas, cats, otters, shits, and reindeer to have an immunity effect rather than the physical card in the stable and this immunity is extended to the card.''' 
 +
[[File:UU - PANADMONIUM spotlight.png|440px]]
 +
----
 
=='''Gameplay Terminology'''==
 
=='''Gameplay Terminology'''==
 
{{Gameplay Terminology}}
 
{{Gameplay Terminology}}

Latest revision as of 10:53, 18 February 2024

UU-cardtypebannerMASQUERADE.png

There are 5 cards defined as "Masquerade" cards;

UU-Base-075-02.pngUU-ChCo-032.pngUU-ChCo-031.pngUU-NSFW-039-00.pngUU-Xmas-027.png


The simple explanation when one or more of these cards are in a stable;

If a simple explanation card version existed it would appear as this.


 1. You cannot win the game with the card in stable (unless dragons blessing is in stable too). 

Ask yourself "Is the card in your stable?" If the answer is Yes = you cannot win

  • Unless dragon's blessing is in stable too.


 2. No player can do anything to a unicorn card that's in that stable. (Nothing at all!). 

Ask yourself "would this card or effect do something, anything to a unicorn card in that stable?" If the answer is yes, you can't do it.

  • If a card a player wants to play from hand with a requirement that would affect any unicorn card in that stable to fulfill that requirement, they are prevented from playing it.
  • If an effect from a card in a stable it cannot affect any unicorn card in that stable, even from itself.
  This is valid for all versions, no text changes alter the card effect.

ADVANCED explanation when one or more of these cards are in a stable;

These cards gives Continuous Immunity to Unicorn Cards in the stable. Unicorn cards cannot be affected by anything. They are immune to both direct and indirect effects. No effect that would affect a unicorn card can target a unicorn card.

  • The win condition requires "unicorns", you do not have any to count. Unless Dragon's Blessing is in the stable also.
  • These cards have no requirement effect text that prevents playing the card.
  • When a masquerade card is in a stable, it has no card effect that removes unicorn card effects.
    • DO MY UNICORN CARD EFFECTS STILL WORK IF A MASQUERADE CARD IS IN MY STABLE? Yes, their effects remain the same. Masquerade cards have no text to change or remove card effects.
  • When a masquerade card is in a stable, it has no card effect that prevents replacement effects.
    • The immunity granted from a Masquerade card does not extend to unicorn card effects. The effect created from a unicorn card in the stable on another player's cards can still be replaced by other card effects instead.
  • When a unicorn card enters a stable. The Unicorn card is considered a unicorn, when they enter a stable they become a panda, cat, otter, shit, or reindeer and also trigger any other continuous effects that may also be in that stable. Such as Barbed Wire.
  • Unicorn Cards are only considered to be "something" (Unicorn, Panda etc) when that unicorn card is in a stable.When in a player's hand they are only unicorn cards. They do not have immunity from discard effects.
  • If a Masqerade card leaves a stable unicorn cards revert from being considered something back to being considered unicorns. No unicorn card effects will trigger at that time.
  • When multiple masquerade cards are in the same stable they do not protect against each other. Panda Cat Deer Shits Otters do not cancel each other. You are just very unlucky and have to clear all of them.
  • This card has no effect text that changes a card's type. Example; A Basic Unicorn card will always be a Basic Unicorn card.

Blinding Effect and Masquerade Effect

  • When a unicorn card enters a stable
    • Blinding Effect which has priority negates the unicorn card effect text and is considered a "basic unicorn" (instead of unicorn).
    • Masquerade Effect then gives immunity to the now "basic unicorn" it is now considered a "Panda", "cat", "otter", "shit", or reindeer" with its card effect. (It is now protected from the Blinding Effect).
    • The unicorn card has already entered the stable with negated card effect text so it will not trigger any enter effect. (The card did not enter with any effect text.)
    • The unicorn card leaving a stable will trigger any leave effect as the card is protected by from the Blinding Effect. (The card left the stable with its effect text.)

Altered Gameplay concepts

When in a stable, Masquerade cards alter standard gameplay concepts as listed below.

  • The player is prevented from winning. The win condition requires "unicorns", you do not have any to count. (Unless Dragon's Blessing is in the stable also.)
  • When a masquerade card is in a stable it causes the intangible "unicorn" concept to become a physical component. This causes Pandas, cats, otters, shits, and reindeer to have an immunity effect rather than the physical card in the stable and this immunity is extended to the card.

UU - PANADMONIUM spotlight.png


Gameplay Terminology